India now elected as non permanent member of United Nations Security Council


India became a non permanent member after a decade, here on Thursday. It won the election with 184 votes casted in favour out of the 192 votes from member states present for voting. 

The election was held on June 17 from 9 am onwards, where the President of U.N. General Assembly Tijjani Muhammad-Bande held the proceedings in the General Assembly Hall.

There were 192 member states present for voting and a country requires 2/3 majority (128) votes to win. While India wins with a high majority, it will continue to be a member for a period of two years.

The last time India was elected as a non permanent member was for the period 2011-12. Now it will continue as a member for the period 2021-22 and the tenure begins from January 1.

Volkan Bozkir, a Turkish diplomat and politician has now been elected as the President of the 75th session of the U.N. General Assembly.

Inputs from Praveena Varma


Leave a Reply


Chief minister to inaugurate “Tourism Boating Control Center” at Rushikonda

Chief minister to inaugurate “Tourism Boating Control Center” at Rushikonda


Weather forecast 19th June 2020