Platinum Jubilee Meeting of Dr.B.R.Ambedkar College of Law, Andhra University


The College was established in the year 1945 and has completed 75 years this August. On this occasion, a Platinum Jubilee Meeting is being organized. This is being organized online because of the pandemic.

M. Venkaiah Naidu, Vice President of India has consented to be the chief guest. Venkaiah Naidu is a distinguished alumnus of this college. Other distinguished participants include Justice T. Rajani, Judge, AP High Court, Justice B. Devanand, Judge, AP High Court, Prof. K. Gupteswar, Founder Principal of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar College of Law, Dr. P. S. Rao, former Director, Law and Treaty Division, Ministry of External Affairs, GoI and currently, Legal Adviser, State of Qatar, Dr. S. Rama Rao, Director, WIPO Coordination Office in New York, Prof. A. Lakshminath and Prof. R. Venkata Rao and many other illustrious Alumni. Vice Chancellor Prof. PVGD Prasada Reddy will preside, Rector Prof. K. Samata and the Registrar Prof. V. Krishna Mohan will participate.

Law College was established in Andhra University in 1945 in order to meet a long felt need for a College of Law in this part of the country, which was then a part of the province of Madras. It must be said that the College owes its genesis to the farsightedness and wisdom of Dr. C.R.Reddy, the founder Vice-Chancellor of this University, who, in consultation with Jurists like Sri Lionel Leach, Chief Justice of Madras, Sri P.V.Rajamannar, the then Advocate General of Madras, Sri V.Govindarajachari, Advocate and a few others, laid its foundations.

In a message which he gave on the occasion of the formal inauguration of the College by Sri P.V.Rajamannar, Judge of the Madras High Court, on 4th August, 1945 at Machilipatnam, Dr. Reddy emphasized the need for enriching the Academic study of law in the Universities as contrasted with the mere training for forensic practice. He visualized this institution as a centre for comparative and interdisciplinary study of Law, feeding the stream of national life with teachers and juries consults as well as practicing lawyers.

The College started functioning from 4th July, 1945 in a private building in Machilipatnam, belonging to one Sri Janaki Ram Naidu. At that time the University was at Guntur due to exigencies of the Second World War. For about a fortnight, Sri K.V. Gopalaswamy, M.A., (Oxon) Bar-at-Law, Interim Professor-in-charge. In July, 1949, the College was shifted to the University Campus at Waltair. Since then the college had outstanding jurists and Legal Luminaries as the Members of the Faculty such as the venerated Prof. S.Venkataraman, Prof. G.C.V.Subba Rao, Prof. V. Balasubrahmaniam, Prof. D.Gopalakrishna Sastry, Prof A.S.Ramachandra Rao, Prof. V. Lakshmana Rao Prof. B.S.Murty, all of who also are no more, Prof. K.Gupteswar (Retired) among others.

The College which was for quite a long time a Department of Arts, Commerce and Law College, has been rechristened as a separate College of Law on 14th April, 1989. As a mark of respect towards the great son of India and chief architect of the Constitution of India Dr.BhimaRao Ramji Ambedkar, the College has been renamed as Andhra University, Dr. B.R.Ambedkar College of law with effect from 10-05-1991.

Hailed as one of the premier Institutes of legal educational Institute in the country, this college can boast of such distinguished and eminent personalities as Justice K.Rama Swamy, former Judge, Supreme Court of India, Justice Jasti Chelameswar, Judge, Supreme Court of India, (Retd) Justice Amareswari, Judge (Retd.) A.P. High Court, Justice Immaneni Panduranga Rao, Judge, A.P. High Court, Justice N.D.Patnaik, Judge, A.P. High Court, Justice P.Ramakrishna Raju, Judge A.P. High Court, Shri P.S.Rao, Member, International Law Commission, Sri D. Manmohan, Vice President, Income Tax Appellate Tribunal, Shri R.Rangaiah, Member, Income Tax Appellate Tribunal, Dr. M.Gopalakrishna Reddy, former Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University, Prof. Y.C.Simhadri, former Vice-Chancellor, Banaras Hindu University Patna University, Acharya Nagarjuna University and Andhra University, Late Sri B.Krishna Mohan, former Member UPSC and Sri G.V.G.Krishna Murthy, former Election Commissioner, Late Sri D.V.Subba Rao, Chairman Bar Council of India, Sri P.P. Rao Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India as its alumni among others.

CLICK HERE !! To be found on google search engine

Share and Enjoy !

0 0


Leave a Reply



BIGG BOSS Season 4 to kick start on August 30


UPSC released Civil services exam 2019 results